Board of Directors

Jeffrey Colvin, MD
Lawrence, Kansas

Kitra Cooper, vice chair of board development
Manhattan, Kansas

Beth Hudson
Junction City, Kansas

Marta Kennedy, secretary
Topeka, Kansas

Melinda Lewis, LMSW, chair
Prairie Village, Kansas

Sarah Mays, vice chair of resource development
Topeka, Kansas

Nancy McCarthy Snyder, treasurer
Wichita, Kansas

Christina Ostmeyer, vice chair of operations
Lawrence, Kansas

Travis Rickford, vice chair of finance and audit
Atwood, Kansas

Robert Sanders
Topeka, Kansas

Mollie Stephens
Kansas City, Missouri

Dale Walker, PhD, vice chair of advocacy
Lawrence, Kansas

Tara Wallace
Topeka, Kansas

Kansas Action for Children was founded four decades ago under leadership from the Junior League of Topeka, Junior League of Wichita, Junior League of Johnson & Wyandotte Counties, and the Kansas Children’s Service League.

These four organizations came together with a mission to establish an independent voice in the state for Kansas children. Since that time, KAC has grown to become one of the leading child advocacy organizations in the country. Through support from individuals and private foundations, KAC has worked alongside legislators and community leaders to achieve tremendous results on behalf of the more than 705,000 kids who call Kansas home.